Winners of 2016 RFA Fans’ Choice Awards Announced

The Legacy Fighting Alliance (LFA) is the premier developmental organization in MMA.

The famous World MMA Awards presented by Fighters Only magazine are still a little over a month away (March 2.) However, the developmental Resurrection Fighting Alliance (RFA) is saying goodbye post-Legacy FC merger by celebrating their final year with the 2016 RFA Fans’ Choice Awards— and Missouri is once again in their history book.

“The Show-Me State” took home two honors after votes from, according to the RFA, thousands of fans: Prospect of the Year (Katy RED DRAGON Collins) and Event of the Year (RFA 46: Jonson vs. Tucker from Branson, the final RFA event.)

Collins, also of Branson and now 6-1 in MMA, debuted at RFA 46 and took out Mandy Polk by way of TKO at 4:35 of Round 2. Arizona’s Johnson may be from outside the area, but his performance in the main event did more than just get him the nod from judges over LeMarcus Tucker. After his win in, Johnson announced on January 7 that he was called up to the UFC. also profiled the final RFA lightweight (155-pound) king and Submission of the Year winner Thiago Moises. Read the prospect report and see his winning helicopter armbar submission below.

Related: The RFA Report Thiago Moises

Alum of the Year Brian “T-City” Ortego (now 11-0-0, 1 No Contest overall) is currently 3-0-0, 1 No Contest in the UFC with three consecutive stoppages and is a testament to the now LFA developmental system.

Other Winners

  • Photo of the Year: Amy Kaplan

  • Ring Girl of the Year: Cristal Aguirre

  • Knockout of the Year: Raoni Barcelos (RFA 45)

  • Fight of the Year: Zachary Riley vs. Hugo Viana (RFA 34)